Aos, By Yoji Kuri, 1964

When I published Film as a Subversive Art some years ago, one image in particular stayed with me which was a still from the above film. I tried in vain to get hold of it but couldn’t find it anywhere on the net. Brilliant that YouTube now has it and for the first time I get to watch it. The still I’ve posted shows men looking through holes to view a woman who is set on a spit and turned relentlessly by a man on the outside. She’s seen a piece of meat there for the joy of men. You have to watch it (below), come to your own conclusions. Also worth seeing is AI, Love (below), where a woman chases a man across town shouting ‘love’ at him. At times she catches him, sometimes he passes through her, but mostly he tries to escape. The Room (below) is pretty mental too.

Aos, By Yoji Kuri, 1964

Love, 1960 (?)

The Room, (1960)