Barry Sykes: So Long (2/24ths of a second of prehistoric 1960s)

I had a studio visit with Barry Sykes last night, a Deptford based artist. I liked a lot of what I saw, but this work in particular really resonated with me. They’re two near-identical framed drawings from the original animation of Fred Flintstone. I can’t tell you why I love them so much, I think it’s something about Fred walking away from you and the way in which Barry has chosen to mount them on mirror. I’d really like them at home, they’re just the sort of art one wants to live with, untroubled and quiet (unfortunately for me I think Barry’s rather attached to them too). Just by spending time with them they seem to give off a tranquility. And they make you aware of the very power of art, that is, in its ability to give you a great deal of pleasure just through the freedom of looking and letting your eyes rest on a form. See more of Barry’s work here.