David Hockney RA: A Bigger Picture

OOOoooo, lookie here. 

David Hockney, Hawthorne Blossom, Woldgate No. 4, 2009

My favourite room at David Hockney's exhibition at the Royal Academy  exhibition, The Hawthorne Room, and my favourite work from the whole show, Hawthorne Blossom, Woldgate No. 4. Kind of candy colours just touching insipid, it’s like they have slightly subverted themselves; they’re totally my type of colours. The projection of light across the scene makes me want to breathe it in, it pulls you in. A road stretching into the distance, the destination out of sight; such a seductive symboliser of what’s to come, of time and of reflection. In my humble opinion Hockney is having some of his best years. Never stop painting (or smoking) you brilliant, brilliant man.

See Hockney talking about his work here over at Artist-Talks