Olivier Zahm

The guy who runs Purple Fashion, Olivier Zahm, has his first show at New York’s Half Gallery  until 2 Jan 2010. I came across Purple in the ’90s and loved it straight away. Back then it was A5 and came as Purple Sex, Purple Fashion and Purple Prose – and whose primary benefactor was Comme des Garcon. I quickly started collecting them and found so much inspiration. Purple Fashion is now something so much more glamorous. I like it, but it’s like having a friend who’s rich, more beautiful, got nicer tits and leads a much more exciting life than you do, i.e. it can make you feel a bit insecure and excluded, and if I am honest a bit sick. But that’s my problem not his. Purple Fashion makes the best fashion iconography, say along with, Italian Vogue and he’s a great photographer. I often visits the Purple Diary, but don’t do that on a day that you’ve eaten too much or are feeling a bit mousy. You have been warned!