Publishing Class with AA Bronson

Casco publishing class sounds like a fascinating programme and totally in line with my current research. Here, a quote for you on what they’re about: ‘Observations from this year’s New York Art Book Fair offer that art­istic publishing is seeing an upsurge in activity and interest in spite of the impending dematerialization of publishing, and in spite of symptoms of the crisis of dematerialized capital. 

…Could it be then that the claim that “print is dead” is exposed as merely the fading whisper of a class of mass-publishers/mass-public? What space then remains in the wake of the modern publication? What resources and relations can be mobilized to fill that space?”

Then on 14 Feb AA Bronson will make a visit there to discuss contemporary publishing. Bronson, you may know from the artist group General Idea, and the megazine he produced with the group called FILE between 1979-1982. A truly inspirational print publication that my discovery of worked as a catalyst for my introduction to the world of print media and the idea of distribution. JRP Ringier did a lovely box set that reprinted the entire series that I featured and sold in my temporary (I cannot bring myself to use the word pop-up) shop MAN-MADE. I love having it here on my shelf, I love the object and my relationship to it, as much as I enjoy its contents.