Susan Hiller at Tate Britain

I went to the opening of Susan Hiller’s show at Tate Britain last night. It’s funny how sometimes art can level you. Yesterday was an odd day. I felt strangely absent, and was itching for the sun to go down. So with some sense of unrest I wanted to see some work that would take me out of my head, or further in, one or the other. I wasn’t disappointed. The first work I encountered was called Dedicated to the Unknown Artists (1972–1976) and is composed of more than 300 black-and-white and colour postcards each illustrating a great English seaside scene where rough seas meet the built borders of our little island. Violent yet liberating, it was like the work recognised something in me, let me play with it for a while, then returned me to terra firma. Read Susan’s Q&A she gave me back in 2008.