The British Art Show, 2011

I think it’s always best to wander into an art gallery or exhibition without any preconceptions of what you’re about to see, I think it’s important to be completely open, or even a little disinterested (as Kant might say). The British Art show where the coolest of the cool are selected as what’s hot in contemporary British art presented some interesting works, some I liked, some bored me and one really took my breath away; A Grammar for Listening by Luke Fowler.

A sound and film work which seems to heighten the senses to the point of empathy, where machines and nature get along, each offering their own little luminous poetry. Never did I think that junction 17 on the M60 Preston could elude to such a freedom found in art. It closes tomorrow, 17th April, catch it if you can.