The Honeymoon Killers,Directed by Leonard Kastle (1970)

At the last Frieze Art Fair I picked up a nice looking paper from Image Movement. The paper features a list of artists’ all time favourite movies and it looks like they do some nice projects. I dip into this whenever I am having a blank moment when ordering movies from LoveFilm. I picked a film favoured by Richard Prince, The Honeymoon Killers. Not normally one for the blk and whites I put it off for a few days, but Oh My it took my breath away. It’s a scary tale of two damaged people finding each other. Shirley Stoler, who plays our female protagonist is haunting as a lumpy nurse with a vicious and emotional demeanor and a lack of attachment to anyone. However, her comfort eating and hysterics, those brief moments of passion and hope tied to early dreams of love and meaning make you empathise with her. This is a tale of fantasies gone bad and a very beautiful one at that.